"mining personal embarrassment for your reading pleasure."

Wilford Brimley Built My Hot Rod

it’s a new year. did you know? sure you did. x-mas and new years went off without a hitch. with the former being fairly lonely. my better half was in south tejas and i spent the greater part of a week on my ass, bored to tears. i played a lot of WoW, ate an entire pumpkin pie by myself in one sitting, and put off laundry until the day before i went back to work. i’ll let you guys decide which of those is the most impressive (or sad). things happened before that, though, so lets grab Mr. Peabody and take a trip in the way back machine. way back to around december 10th. before we go, we might need to change our clothes into something more appropriate as not to cause a ruckus.

the skeptic in me would like to believe that a week after i write about Holden, i wouldn’t find myself in another cat situation. checking my snail mail before i go to work, i heard a kitten meow-ing. it had just started to snow, and i was concerned (like any sap would be) about a homeless kitty. after locating the source of the mews, i spoke back to him, and he came over and was as friendly as could be. he even followed me to my car, stopping short to hide from the snow underneath another car. so at this point, what the hell am i supposed to do? i sat in the car for a minute and told myself i wouldn’t take in another cat before i called Loops and told her (in not so many words) to go get him and bring him in.

after 24 hours or so, we decided on a name for our new little fellow. Miles. like any kitten, he’s a spunky little thing. the girls aren’t super fond of him, but hopefully that will change with time. if you follow me on twitter, you’ve seen the pics. if not, gimme a yell, i’ll kill you with cute. when he’s not climbing curtains, he’s balled up next to me purring. it’s disgusting. throughout the rest of the month i did other things. changed cars, went through some mild depression type business, played more world of warcraft and cleaned house a little (very little). hell, i wasn’t even aware when the year changed over. oblivious as always, Loops had to tell me when to pay attention.

had some strange health things lately. a couple times in the last few weeks, a few of my toes on my right foot have gone numb. or fallen asleep. or whatever. i spent all night one night worrying about diabetic neuropathy and eventually losing my feet to diabetes. which i dont have as far as i know. then i worried for a little while about my kidneys. i had issues a few years back on one side because i was taking an ‘herbal supplement’ in pill form. sciatic nerve problems for 9 months, bang! and given this is on the same side, with those same toes, i started to wonder if my kidney was giving me shit, or i had stones, or yadda yadda. of course i haven’t gone to the doctor. i’m terrified of the doctor. so i’ve been eating a little better i think, drinking less of the colas, and havent had any issues since. let’s hope it stays that way. pray to whatever you like for that, please.

i think what i hate the most about the doctor is the shame. you always get that look like “holy shit, what in the hell did you do to yourself?”. least it always feels that way to me. i feel the same at the dentist also. and at gyms. and pretty much everywhere i go. guess it explains why i don’t like leaving the house sometimes. it bothers me tons to think that i’m ashamed to be who i am or look like i do. i know this is an unhealthy behavior, and still let it peck at me constantly. like one of those drinking bird desk ornaments. fucking angry drinking birds.

2 responses

  1. holy shit man, angry birds? grats on joining the rest of us in 2008. douche.

    January 25, 2011 at 11:47 am

  2. I think you actually texted me… “there’s a kitty outside”. I called you and asked if we were keeping him. He is awfully cute. Sometimes. He’s being adorable NOW, but was not so adorable at 7 a.m.

    One week till we can have Angry Birds on our phones!

    January 26, 2011 at 8:14 pm

Leave a comment